NHL Suspends Horcoff For 20 Games

Photo: Kirby Lee - USA Today

Photo: Kirby Lee – USA Today

By Michael Walters

Shawn Horcoff was suspended for 20 games without pay by the NHL for performance enhancing drugs. According to Frank Seravalli of TSN, he will forfeit $357,526.88 in salary. Horcoff played in 45 games this season for the Ducks, recording 10 total points(6A + 4A), with 30 penalty minutes and a +/- of -1. This affects the Ducks bottom six forwards, which means it’s likely Mike Santorelli and Ryan Garbutt will see more ice time unless another trade is made.

The Anaheim Ducks issued this statement in response:

Shawn Horcoff’s statement in response to the test.

“While recovering from an injury I suffered this past fall, I tried a treatment that I believed would help speed up the healing process. Although I was unaware that this treatment was not permitted under NHL rules, that is no excuse whatsoever. I should have done my research, and I should have checked with the NHL/NHLPA Performance Enhancing Substances Program’s doctors. I accept full responsibility for my actions, and I am sorry. Throughout my entire career, I have felt genuinely blessed and honored to play the great game of hockey, and I regret the impact that this may have on my team and our fans. I look forward to the day I return to the ice for the playoff push.”

Other News

Adam Clendening was placed on waivers today. Tomorrow morning we will know if he clears them or not.

Follow us Twitter @DucksNPucks !

Like us on Facebook at DucksNPucks !

Follow us on Instagram at DucksNPucks !

 

 

2 thoughts on “NHL Suspends Horcoff For 20 Games

  1. Pingback: New Lines Improve Anaheim's Offense

  2. Pingback: New Lines Improve Anaheim’s Offense | jeffreybcarbone

Comments are closed.